Earthmoving Events, Earthmoving News, Komatsu

Women in Industry Awards: 2023 winners

A table setting at the 2023 Women in Industry Awards in Melbourne

A crowd of hundreds turned out for the sold-out 2023 Women in Industry Awards gala in Melbourne last week.

The annual awards are held to recognise women who have found success in a range of typically male-dominated industrial sectors, including mining, transport, engineering, and construction.

Giselle Phillips, with her Woman of the Year award
Giselle Phillips, Woman of the Year.

This year, Giselle Phillips of Fredon QLD claimed the prestigious Woman of the Year Award (sponsored by Fulton Hogan), as well as the Safety Advocacy Award (sponsored by Komatsu).

Giselle was recognised for pioneering change within the Fredon QLD business, driving the use of technology to streamline the compliance of training and competencies, as well as being proactive in delivering mental health and wellbeing initiatives.

In her acceptance speech, Giselle highlighted the need for women to band together to make positive change in their industries.

“We are all in the same boat,” she said. “We are not in competition with each other, we need to advocate and help each other to get where we need to be.

“This is not only for me, this is for every woman that is in the room.”

Fredon CEO Scott Olsen congratulated Giselle on her “remarkable achievements”.

“Giselle is not only passionate about the health and safety of our employees, in particular their mental health, but is also passionate about the positive impact women can have in our industry through the diversity of pragmatic thinking and collaborative leadership,” he said.

The night also saw the Excellence in Construction Award, sponsored by the National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC), go to Trudy Grimshaw from the Department of Finance, Western Australia; Excellence in Transport awarded to Coralie Chapman from Humes Concrete Products; Excellence in Mining (sponsored by Weir Minerals) awarded to Ashara Moore from BHP; and many more.

Full list of 2023 Women in Industry Awards winners:

  • Stefanie Frawley (TMX Global): Business Development Success of the Year
  • Trudy Grimshaw (Department of Finance, Western Australia): Excellence in Construction – sponsored by NAWIC
  • Elsa Antunes (James Cook University): Excellence in Engineering – sponsored by SEW-Eurodrive
  • Kristi Riordan (Harvest B): Excellence in Manufacturing – sponsored by PACCAR Australia
  • Ashara Moore (BHP): Excellence in Mining – sponsored by Weir Minerals
  • Coralie Chapman (Humes Concrete Products): Excellence in Transport
  • Jemma Walshe (Fulton Hogan): Industry Advocacy Award
  • Teagan Dowler (The BCW): Mentor of the Year
  • Sophia Kurianski (Jinolo): Rising Star of the Year – sponsored by Atlas Copco
  • Giselle Phillips (Fredon QLD): Safety Advocacy Award – sponsored by Komatsu
  • Giselle Phillips (Fredon QLD): Woman of the Year – sponsored by Fulton Hogan

For more on the awards, visit:


Send this to a friend